Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa ( Subclass 489)

About the Visa

The Skilled regional (Provisional) visa is a provisional work visa for individuals who have the qualifications and skills required to address Australia’s skill shortage, but cannot meet the pass mark required to obtain a Skill Independent visa.

Who are eligible (Eligibility and requirement)

  • The candidate can be in or outside Australia when he/she applies for the visa and when a decision is made.
  • The candidate must meet health and character requirements.
  • The candidate must have repaid or have arranged to repay any outstanding debts to Australian Government.
  • The candidate might not be eligible for this visa if he/she has had a visa cancelled or refused while he/she was in Australia.
  • Must be under 45 years of age.
  • Have competence English.
  • The candidate must currently hold one of the following provisional visas and complied with all conditions of that visa for at least two years:
  • The candidate must have never held more than one of these visas.
  • The current pass mark for the Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa is 60 points.
  • To be sponsored by a relative, an applicant’s relative must live in a Specified Regional Area of Australia* and be either:
    • an Australian citizen;
    • an Australian permanent resident; or
    • an eligible New Zealand citizen.
  • The applicant (or their spouse) must be related to their sponsor as either:
    • a non-dependent child – including a natural, adoptive or step-child;
    • a parent – including adoptive or step-parent;
    • a brother or sister – including adoptive or step-siblings;
    • a niece or nephew – including adoptive or step-niece or nephew; or
    • an aunt or uncle – including adoptive or step-aunt or uncle.

*The definition of Specified Regional Area of Australia depends on whether the applicant is sponsored by a relative or nominated by a State or Territory government. As a general indication, the following areas are considered regional:

  • New South Wales – everywhere except Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Wollongong;
  • Northern Territory – everywhere;
  • Queensland – everywhere except the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast;
  • South Australia – everywhere;
  • Tasmania – everywhere;
  • Victoria – everywhere except the Melbourne metropolitan area; and
  • Western Australia – everywhere.

To be nominated by a State or Territory government, applicants must satisfy specific criteria, as set by the particular State or Territory. These may include:

  • having an occupation on the skills shortage list in that State or Territory; or
  • Demonstrating specialized skills in an area of need.

On 1 July 2012, the skilled migration program switched to a new online system called “SkillSelect” which will require prospective skilled migrants to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI). Once an EOI is submitted, these details can be viewed by Australian employers, state and territory governments and by the Australian Government who have the ability to extend an invitation to lodge a visa application.

There is no guarantee that submitting an EOI will result in an invitation to apply for a visa. If an invitation is received, there will be a prescribed timeframe within which the visa application must then be formally lodged with DIBP.

What visa lets you do?

The visa lets you and your family:

  • to stay in Australia for up to 4 years
  • to live, work and study in a specified region of Australia
  • to travel to and from Australia as many times as you want while the visa is valid.
  • To apply for permanent residency, if eligible, through the Skilled-Regional (Residence) visa (subclass 887).

New Zealand passport holders

  • New Zealand passport holders should tell the immigration officer at the border that they have a skilled visa. If you do not tell them, you might be granted a Special Category visa (subclass 444)


  • Application Fee: AU$ 3670
  • Extended stay pathway: AU$325
  • Subsequent entrant pathway:
    • From AU$ 325 if your family member was an extended pathway applicant.
    • From AU$ 3670 if your family member was an invited pathway applicant
  • Partner Application Fee: AU$ 1835
  • Dependents Application Fee:
  • 18 years or older: AU$ 1835
  • Under 18 years: AU$ 920
  • Second Installment: AU$ 4890

Processing time

12- 24 months

Link: https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/489-

* This is the DIBP prescribed cost of the application. This does not include Migration agent’s fees. To obtain the current fees, kindly refer to the above link or DIBP website.

Consult migration agent in your area

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.